ACHS Board of Directors

ACHS’s Board of Directors is responsible for establishing policies to ensure the quality, integrity, and effectiveness of student learning programs and services and the financial stability of the institution. Once the Board reaches a decision, it acts as a whole.

ACHS’s Board of Directors:

  • Establishes policies consistent with the mission statement to ensure the quality, integrity, and improvement of student learning programs and services and the resources necessary to support them. The Board has ultimate responsibility for educational quality, legal matters, and financial integrity.
  • Reviews the Board’s bylaws and policies specifying the Board’s size, duties, responsibilities, structure, and operating procedures. The Board regularly evaluates its policies and practices and revises them as necessary. The Board acts in a manner consistent with its policies and bylaws.
  • Reviews Board development and new member orientation.
  • Conducts self-evaluation processes to assess Board performance.
  • Abides by the code of ethics.
  • Is informed about and involved in the accreditation process.

Members of the Board

View ACHS’s current Board of Directors including biographical information online hereACHS’s Board of Directors consists of the following members: 

Dorene Petersen, BA, DIP.NT, DIP.ACU, RH (AHG)

Founding President

Clyde B. Jensen, Ph.D

Public Member

Debbie Parigian, B.A., CPA

Public Member

ACHS Program Advisory Councils (PACs)

ACHS’s close ties with the aromatherapy, herbal medicine, holistic nutrition, and holistic health industries is key to our success and high quality. We want our students and graduates to have a worthwhile experience as a student that then transitions to the workplace. Leaders, educators, and employers in the holistic health and wellness industry have a strong self-interest in helping holistic health education improve and in helping students succeed. Well-trained competent graduates not only are more effective employees, salespeople, and ambassadors, they reduce compliance costs and liability exposure and help advance the industry. 

One of the most effective ways of providing a link between industry and colleges is through the ACHS Program Advisory Councils (PACs). ACHS PACs are essential to successful programs and play an important role in guiding, strengthening, and improving existing programs. Learn more about our Program Advisory Councils online here.

Aromatherapy Department

Lora Cantele, RA

Mikki Anderson, Cert. Aroma.

Mindy Green, AHG, RA

Robert Brown, President, Lebermuth

Herbal Medicine

Jessica Baker, MS, L.Ac.

Mindy Green, AHG, RA

Integrative Health & Wellness

Kathleen Bell , RN, MSN, CNM, AHN-BC™

Diane Borders, MS

Jeff Dorsett, MSHS

Bianca Garilli, ND, IFMCP

Dorothy Germano, Ph.D., Former President and CAO Hawthorn

Lisa Powell, MS CAM, FDN

Doug Rosendale, PhD.

Download more information about our expert advisory council members online here.

ACHS Institutional Review Board

Oleg Maksimov, PhD

Santiago Lorenzo, BA, MS, PhD

Barbara Soloman, RN (Retired, L.AC.)

The ACHS Institutional Review Board (IRB) is responsible to ensure that research conducted with human participants complies with Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) requirements.

Primarily, the IRB will ensure:

  1. Compliance with the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Title 45, Part 46:
  2. Research is conducted in accordance with the principles outlined in the Belmont Report:


The ACHS IRB reviews proposed studies for safety and ethical concerns related to information about study subjects. Student proposal quality and scientific merit are subject to the approval of faculty and the Academic Dean.

ACHS Committees

Academic Standards Committee

  • Tiffany Rodriguez, Chief Academic Officer, Chair
  • Prisca Bermudez, Dean of Academic Services
  • Jennifer Morrison, BA, Registrar
  • ACHS Program Deans
  • ACHS Faculty


Ex-Officio Members:

  • Tracey Abell, BS, MS, President

Admissions Committee

  • Troy Jenkins, Director of Enrollment Management, Chair
  • Amanda Heller, BS, MBA, Director of Enrollment Services
  • Shannon Miller, BS, MS,  Admissions Advisor
  • Amy Swinehart, BA, Senior Admissions Advisor
  • Molly Sykes, BA, MS, Senior Admissions Advisor
  • Jessica White, BS, MS Admissions Advisor

Financial Aid Committee

  • Shauna Wing, Director of Student Financial Services
  • Stephanie North, BA, MBA, Director of Financial Aid / Director of Military Education Benefits


Ex-Officio Members:

  • Melissa McMahon, BBA, MS, Chief Financial Officer

Financial Standards Committee

  • Shauna Wing, Director of Student Financial Services, Chair
  • Melissa McMahon, BBA, MS, Chief Financial Officer
  • Amanda Sparks, Business Office Coordinator
  • Tracey Abell, BS, MS, President

Industry Leaders

ACHS Partnerships & Affiliations